Binghamton Homepage
Spring Weather Sponsored by

Block downs Broce to win PGA club pro title

<p>Michael Block birdied the second playoff hole Wednesday to beat Jamie Broce and win the PGA Professional National Championship.</p>

Myrtle Beach, SC ( - Michael Block birdied the second playoff hole Wednesday to beat Jamie Broce and win the PGA Professional National Championship.

Block shot even-par 72 for the second straight day to end at 2-under 286 while Broce, the second- and third-round leader, stumbled to a 3-over 75, including a bogey on the last hole.

The pair returned to the par-4 18th for the first extra hole and both players made pars. They moved to the par-4 10th, where Block made birdie to win the title at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club.

Broce led Block by three when the round started, and the pair traded bogeys at the first and second. Broce also dropped a shot on No. 3, but he came right back with a birdie on fourth. He moved back to even-par for his round with a birdie on the sixth,

Block inched within three when he birdied the seventh, but he gave that right back when he bogeyed the eighth. Broce faltered to bogeys on the ninth and 11th to trim his lead to two.

Both players birdied the par-3 12th, but Broce tripped to a bogey on the 14th and his lead was down to one. Block dipped two back when he bogeyed 15th, but he atoned for the mistake with a birdie on the par-5 16th

Broce faltered to a bogey at the last to fall back into the playoff.

Stuart Deane posted a 1-under 71 in the final round to grab third place at minus-1. Frank Esposito fired a 3-under 69 to match the low round of the day and end alone in fourth place at even-par 288.

2013 champion Rod Perry had a 71 in the final round and was joined in fifth place at 1-over 289 by Dustin Volk (71) and Bob Sowards (72).

David Tentis also shot 71 on Wednesday to grab a piece of eighth place with David Hronek (75) and first-round co-leader Johan Kok (73).

Those top 10 players qualified for the year's final major, the PGA Championship at Valhalla. The next 10 on the leaderboard -- Steve Schneiter, Rob Corcoran, Jerry Smith, Aaron Krueger, Dave McNabb, Eric Williamson, Matt Pesta, Brian Norman, Jim McGovern and Ryan Helminen -- also made it into the field at Valhalla.

Williamson, Pesta, Curtis Malm, Norman, McGovern and Helminen played a 6-for-5 playoff which came down to Malm and McGovern. On the fifth extra hole, Malm dunked his ball in the water, then left a chip shot short. He chipped on with his fourth and conceded the final spot in the field at Valhalla to McGovern, who had a birdie putt from inside 20 feet.

McGovern, a former Houston Open winner, will return to the PGA Championship for a fifth time, but first since missing the cut at Valhalla in 1996.

Karen Paolozzi, the only female to play all four rounds, closed with a 2-over 74 to end at 10-over 298.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Top Stories