2nd Annual Owego Fallen Firefighters Memorial Golf Tournament

Published 01/29 2014 12:00PM

Updated 01/29 2014 12:00PM

From Patrick Gavin:

The Owego Fire Department is hosting the 2nd Annual Owego Fallen Firefighters Memorial Golf Tournament on June 7th at the Links at Hiawatha Landing in Apalachin. 65 teams and 260 golfers participated in the inaugural tournament last year.

The tournament has also unveiled its new website at www.OwegoFireGolf.com. The interactive site allows teams and sponsors to register and pay online to participate in the tournament, which honors Owego’s five Fallen Firefighters, and provides general information about the tournament. The website highlights the over 100 businesses and individuals who sponsored the tournament last year.

The monies raised from the tournament support two important causes that include a scholarship in the amount of $2,000 for a graduating Owego Free Academy senior pursing further education in a first responder field and building/operating costs for the OFD Training Facility. Owego Firefighter Lowell Hines was the 2013 scholarship recipient. The tournament is held in honor of Owego Fallen Firefighters Matt Porcari (LODD 2013), Steve Gavin (LODD 2003), Richard Beck (LODD 1993), Winfield Knapp (LODD 1965) and Roy Wiltse (LODD 1938).

Teams are encouraged to register for the tournament early as the field of 65 teams filled up fast last year. Registration is now open online. Paper registrations and payment by check will continue to be accepted. Paper registration forms can also be downloaded from the tournament’s website.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.